Internet Pioneers Cerf and Kahn to Receive ACM TURING Award
Wednesday, February 16, 2005 - :35 PM
Topic: 6DEPLOY
Posted by: Jordi

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named Vinton G. Cerf and Robert E. Kahn the winners of the 2004 A.M. Turing Award, considered the "Nobel Prize of Computing," for pioneering work on the design and implementation of the Internet's basic communications protocols.

Cerf and Kahn developed TCP/IP, a format and procedure for transmitting data that enables computers in diverse environments to communicate with each other.

Complete information at ACM.

This article comes from the 6DEPLOY - IPv6 Deployment and Support - Home

The URL for this story is: